Beauty

Beauty Notes: YSL – Le Teint Touche Éclat Foundation

A couple of weeks ago, I found myself wandering the beauty halls of House of Fraser. I only went in to have a quick coffee in Nero, but after my caffeine fix, I ended up having a browse [which is never a good idea]. Chanel, Mac, Laura Mercier – I was in heaven, but as I was about to walk out into the real world [my hands smudged with reds and pinks], I came face to face with a pyramid display of the YSL – Le Teint Touche Éclat Foundation. It was if it was meant to be [well, that’s what I’m telling myself]. It has been on my ‘to buy’ list for a few months now, but when it came out, I already had about 7 foundations, so thought I’d use them up a bit before indulging in another bottle. I’ve read thousands of reviews saying it’s amazing, so I wanted to see for myself. The sales assistant was incredibly helpful and tested a few colours onto my skin. We both agreed that the shade BD20 was the perfect match for me [there are hundreds of shades for all!] So, with my new bottle of perfect skin, I left House of Fraser £28 poorer, but with a huge smile on my face.

Twenty years after Touche Éclat was released, they finally made the foundation version. This foundation claims to achieve the same glowing, illuminating result that Touche Éclat does. It’s weightless, sheer and doesn’t mask the skin, it erases imperfections, has no opaque powders, and will leave the skin looking healthy, natural and radiant. Now, when a foundation claims to do all of the above, it ticks all of the boxes for me. I tried it out the morning after, so I could apply it in the natural light. I don’t know if anyone else has noticed, but it smells like marzipan [this could just be me], but the first time I squirted the product onto my hand, I got a whiff of the delicious stuff. The consistency is very light and creamy, and it blends into the skin so easily – which is great when you don’t have much time in the morning and need to do your face quickly. It leaves my skin looking flawless, but because it’s so sheer, you can’t even tell you’re wearing anything. My only negative comment would be that it doesn’t last as long as I would like. If I first apply it around 8am, I’d need to apply a bit more around 1pm. Then again, I’m yet to find a foundation that lasts forever. So, with regards to the actual product itself, it’s wonderful and does everything that it claims to do. When I’ve used it up, I’d definitely be purchasing this again.

Discover the foundation here

Leave a Reply

