Beauty

Beauty Notes: Bobbi Brown – EXTRA Repair Foundation

As much as I love the winter, I hate what it does to my skin. It’s been cold and rainy here in England [nothing new, of course], but because of this, the central heating is on constantly – leaving you with blotchy, dry skin. So, whilst rummaging through my beauty basket, to find something to save my face, I stumbled upon my little pot of Bobbi Brown – Extra Repair Foundation [as you can see from the picture above, I’ve nearly ran out].

I bought this pot of perfection last year – quite possibly the day it came out. I had a leaflet through the post a couple of days before, and after reading everything about it, I couldn’t wait to buy it. I remember on my lunch break, I literally ran to Selfridges. As it was  a Saturday, the queue was horrendous, but it gave me the opportunity to test a few out on my hand. As it’s infused with Shea Butter and Evening Primrose Oil, it’s incredibly hydrating and has a very creamy consistency [it reminds me of that thick nivea cream]. The buttery foundation melted into my hand and left a glowy sheen, but wasn’t too greasy. It smells quite similar to a few of the body butters from The Body Shop too, which makes it extra amazing! Every woman wants to have skin like a super model, and I find that this foundation gives it that flawless finish. As the queue finally calmed, I was able to get a bit of help. I’m shade sand in every Bobbi Brown foundation, but in this one, the sand shade looked really light. The sales assistant told me that the colours are slightly different, and that I should go two shades darker than I would normally use. Annoyingly, the light in Selfridges isn’t ideal to pick foundations, so I opted for beige – two shades darker [she agreed that it suited me], but the next time I purchase this, I’ll go for warm sand instead.

At £36, it is quite expensive for a 30ml foundation, but because of all of its hydrating benefits, it is worth every penny. It has SPF 25, which is high for a foundation, as most only have 15. Also, it lasts forever, which is good news if you’re in love with it as much as I am. I’ve been wearing it for the past week and my skin has improved a lot. It feels as though I’m just wearing a thick moisturiser, one that melts into the skin and hydrates the dry patches. In the winter, I like to protect my skin as much as possible, so when I wear this, I feel like no amount of wind, rain or hours of central heating will affect it.

I hope BB never discontinue this product, because I’d be truly heart broken.

Have you tried BB Extra Repair Foundation?

4 thoughts on “Beauty Notes: Bobbi Brown – EXTRA Repair Foundation

Leave a Reply

