Food

Banana, Egg and Blueberry Pancakes

As a self confessed health freak, I like to put as much good stuff into my body as possible [and the odd spoonful of nutella]. The last time I indulged in a pancake infested breakfast was in Amsterdam last autumn, in a quaint little place called Pancake Corner [ironically]. They were huge, dripping in chocolate and whipped cream and were quite possibly the best thing I’ve ever eaten. Unfortunately, if I ate like that every morning, I’d be the size of an elephant. So, this is where I introduce the healthiest pancake known to man….


The Banana, Egg and Blueberry Pancake:

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

Ok, they may be on the small side [my batch made 5, but I ate the other 2], and there isn’t a sign of anything sugary, but my God do they taste amazing. I found the recipe on a health blog, but I’ve adapted it to suit my own needs. It is the easiest thing I have ever made!!
Ingredients:
1 egg
1 egg white
1 medium banana
1 tbsp of protein powder [optional]
A handful of blueberries
Honey [if you so desire]
Mash up the banana in a bowl, until it’s all mushy. Add the egg, mix together, add the egg white, mix together. Add the tbsp of protein powder [optional] – I find this makes it thicker and easier to fry. Add a drop of oil/spray to the frying pan, warm up the pan, turn to a low/medium heat. Scoop out the mixture, slowly tip the mixture onto the frying pan, leave for 2 minutes, flip over and cook for 2 minutes. Now, you can either add the blueberries to the mixture, but I put mine on top of the cooked pancakes today and drizzled with a bit of honey.
Eat them all to yourself and enjoy.
*Warning – you’ll become obsessed with these and crave them every single day.
It’s a good job they’re healthy!
Leave a Reply

