Food

Weekend Baking: Banana Bread

???????????

???????????

When I think about banana bread, it’s a rainy Sunday afternoon, I’m curled up on the sofa with a blanket, cup of coffee and the delicious aroma of bananas and walnuts swirl around the apartment, making my stomach grumble. I love that moment when an hour has past and I run over to the oven and realise it’s ready. Most of the time I’m far too impatient to wait until it’s cooled down, so I end up cutting into it while it’s still piping hot and the steam suffocates my face. Peanut butter is lathered onto a chunky slice, then I return to my warm spot on the sofa and enjoy every mouthful.

I could eat banana bread for breakfast, lunch and dinner (I’ve done this on various occasions), but they’re usually full of butter, sugar and all of those artificial things that give you wobbly thighs. So, in order to keep my slim legs, I’ve adapted the recipe and incorporated healthier options – such as peanut butter instead of butter, honey (or coconut), instead of sugar, walnuts instead of chocolate chips and wholemeal flour instead of white. To be honest, it taste better.

I found the original recipe here
But here is my version:

3 large ripe bananas
180g wholemeal flour
2½ tsp baking powder
4 tbsp organic honey
2 eggs
3 tbsp melted peanut butter, plus extra to grease the tin
50g chopped walnuts and a handful of sultanas and pumpkin seeds

I follow the same method off the website, which is as follows:

Preheat the oven to 170C. Put two-thirds of the peeled banana chunks into a bowl and mash until smooth. Roughly mash the remainder and stir in gently. Sift the flour and baking powder into a bowl, and lightly grease a baking tin about 21x9x7cm.

Put the honey, eggs and melted peanut butter into a large bowl and use an electric mixer to whisk them until pale and slightly increased in volume. Fold in the bananas and the dry ingredients until you can see no more flour, then fold in the walnuts, sultanas and pumpkin seeds.

Spoon into the tin and bake for about an hour until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean. Cool in the tin for 10 minutes [or in my case, don’t], before turning out on to a rack to cool completely.

Devour it all in one sitting and enjoy!

Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

