Food / Lifestyle

[Super Healthy] Peanut Butter & Berry Baked Porridge Bars

A couple of months ago, I went through a phase of baking so many granola bars, I’m surprised I didn’t turn into an oat. Every Sunday I would make an enormous batch, with the intention that they’d last a week or two. Unfortunately, after a couple of hours, the only evidence of this delicious plan consisted of a pile of crumbs on the kitchen side and peanut butter smeared all over my boyfriend’s face. Baking was banned for a while because 1) Monday mornings were always disappointing 2) 10 jars of peanut butter a week? and 3) Carbs. Although they were incredibly healthy [I used 5 tbsp of peanut butter & honey], but if you consume that all in one sitting, well…..

I wanted to make breakfast, brunch or pre-workout protein granola bars that were simple, quick, healthy, were crunchy but also a bit banana bread(ish), and didn’t have too much peanut butter or honey inside. I did a bit of research and stumbled upon baked porridge [you cook it in the oven, as opposed to on the stove]. I found the easiest recipe here , but got all ‘Nigella’ and did a bit of experimenting with my own ingredients. Surprisingly, after one awful attempt [soggy galore], the second batch came out of the oven looking pretty damn perfect.

I may have just consumed four with jam & several cups of coffee. Tut tut.

???????????

???????????

???????????

???????????

???????????

???????????

They came out exactly the way I wanted them to! Crunchy, a bit bread like, not too sweet and absolutely delicious! I didn’t follow measurements. I kind of just grabbed handfuls and threw everything together, hoping for the best. Sometimes it’s better to roll up your sleeves and improvise, you know?

You will need:

3 handfuls of porridge oats
A handful of muesli [the nuttier the better]
3 tbsp of wheat free flour [I used gram flour]
Scoop of protein powder [I used chocolate]
1 tbsp of baking powder
A handful of mixed fruit & nuts
A handful of mixed berries [I used frozen]
A handful of coconut flakes
A cup of water or almond milk [I splashed in a bit of almond milk with the water]
2 tbsp of peanut butter
2 tbsp of honey
1 tbsp of Coconut Oil

Pre-heat the oven [I put it on 190 degrees]

Melt the coconut oil, honey and peanut butter in a medium saucepan [lick the spoon!]
Whilst that is all melting and smelling delicious, mix the oats, muesli, berries, nuts & raisins, coconut flakes, flour, protein powder and baking powder in a separate bowl. Once the coconut oil, peanut butter and honey have all melted, pour the dry mixture into the saucepan and mix everything together. Add in the cup of water and milk and mix until all gooey and lovely.

Scoop out the mixture into an oiled baking dish [I used a medium sized one], and spread everything out evenly. Put it into the oven, and bake for 45 minutes.

Take them out once they’re golden brown and leave to cool for 30 minutes. Put them in the fridge for another 30 minutes and then take them out, cut into chunky squares and devour with jam, until your heart’s content!

Leave a Reply

