Beauty

Concocting the ‘Perfect Foundation’ on a rainy Saturday afternoon…

???????????

???????????

???????????
INGREDIENTS:
MAC Studio Sculpt Foundation [NC20] – £25

Laura Mercier – Silk Creme Foundation [Cream Ivory]£33
YSL Le Teint Touche Elcat Foundation [BD20] – £29

TO DO:
Squeeze four blobs of each foundation into an empty sample pot. Mix together with the end of a broken eyeshadow brush [or if you fancy getting messy, use your finger]. Whip them up, until all the ingredients have melted together. Mmmm, buttery goodness!

I remember when I was a kid I’d spend hours concocting potions in the bathroom [hair gel, shampoo, shower gel, Mr Muscle sink cleaner – anything that had a good mixing consistency]. Maybe I was destined to be a scientist? I still do this, but rather than creating a mess and inhaling hazardous fumes, I’ve moved on to simply whip up the perfect foundation shade/texture. I’ve been wearing Bobbi Brown – Skin Foundation over the summer, but as autumn is quickly making an appearance, bringing with her a pile of golden leaves and unruly wind, I prefer to have a slightly thicker, creamier base. I love the buttery consistency of Studio Sculpt and Silk Creme, but when mixed with something a little sheer – such as Le Touche Éclat, it creates the perfect base for my skin.

My search for the perfect foundation has been an exhausting seven year journey. From REVLON to RIMMEL to MAC to NARS to BOBBI BROWN to CHANEL to YSL to LAURA MERCIER back to MAC  back to NARS. I’ve come to the conclusion that there is no such thing. Perfect doesn’t exist in one bottle. It’s up to you to concoct your own. I do, however, have my eye on the new Yves Saint Laurent Youth Liberator Serum Foundation.

To be continued….

One thought on “Concocting the ‘Perfect Foundation’ on a rainy Saturday afternoon…

  1. Hi, I just bought LM creme foundation in Beige Ivory and I’m NC 20. Do you think Beige Ivory will be a great match or is Cream Ivory the best, no fail match for NC 20? Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

