Fashion / Food / Lifestyle

The Simple Things

????????????????????????????????????????????Vogue Magazine [Christmas AND Kate Moss on the front – perfect]
TREK bar [my new snacking obsession]
Hot chocolate [without the guilt]
Candles [to make the place look & smell like a winter wonderland]

Simple things never fail to put a smile on my face. I’m the type of person who is over the moon with a cup of coffee in the morning [preferably brought to me in bed with a kiss]. You don’t need to spend ridiculous amounts of money to feel content in life. In fact, the loveliest things are free, such as – winter walks with a flask of hot chocolate, endless hugs & kisses off your chubby dog, breakfast in bed with your partner in crime, film night with spoonfuls of cheesecake, a quiet, candle-lit yoga session, receiving funny/ugly face pictures from your siblings, watching One Fine Day and falling in love with George Clooney [circa 1996], baking, laughing, smiling, dancing, singing. The list is endless…..

Yesterday the rain cried its sad little toddler tears, turning the crunchy golden leaves into a mound of mush. Even though I was cosy, wearing my winter socks, watching The Christmas Channel [yes, it’s only JUST November, but who can resist Santa?], and the weather was having some sort of irrational tantrum, I needed some fresh air. I love the rain. As cliché as this sounds, it does seem to wash away your worries. All I seem to be doing lately is worrying about money, moving out, you know, the usual adult things that make you wish you were six-years-old all over again? Being a graduate in your mid-twenties is difficult. You’re at a point where you still feel young enough to say ‘oh, it’ll be alright in a few years’, but deep down, you know that in a ‘few years’ you’ll be nearly thirty, and that scares the hell out of you. Right now, none of my plans have gone according to plan, but to be perfectly honest, you can’t really ‘plan’ your life. Life has its ups and downs and changes constantly, so, it’s pointless declaring ‘when I’m twenty-seven, I’ll be living here, working there, and doing this and that’. I’ve decided to just simply let life happen, and go with it. As long as I have my health, my friends and family, the handsome ginger man by my side, and a strong cup of coffee, then I’m the happiest person in the world, and that is the most important.

Leave a Reply

