Fashion / Lifestyle

“Working 9-5, what a way to make a living…..”

1655917_731961770171180_68047821_n1520605_720319788002045_1488164754_n
I spent the majority of last weekend in changing rooms, trying on anything remotely ‘smart’ for my new internship. As my current wardrobe mainly consists of leather trousers, shorts, skirts and Ramones t-shirts, I was in desperate need of purchasing something slightly more sophisticated. I did, however, fall in love with a pair of navy blue pinstripe wool trousers [photograph above] from H&M – they feel pyjamas [perfect for long days in the office]. My first week has been really good. I’m still new to everything and finding my feet, but I have so many creative ideas I want to contribute. The people I’m working with are lovely, and the office is pretty laid back. It’s one of those ‘you can make yourself a cup of coffee any time you want’ kind of places – which are always the best. On my third day, I bought in chocolates for everyone, which went down pretty well, because by 5pm, the only evidence of gluttony consisted of several empty wrappers. I’m bringing in fruit next week – strawberries galore.

I’m actually looking forward to going back to work on Monday morning. I like leaving the apartment at 7:30, wrapped up in warm layers, saying good morning to strangers, buying my morning soya latte, getting into the office at 8:15 and having half an hour to drink my coffee and read Vogue. It feels good to have a routine again too – one where I’m awake before the birds start singing and requires a lot of organisation. Also, I’m pleased that I’m based in an office and not a shop floor. As much as I adored designer menswear, it’s lovely to actually have a weekend to myself – 48 hours to do as I please and spend some quality time with the husband. Although my internship is only for 6 months, I’m determined to work incredibly hard, change things for the better and leave a good impression. 

Leave a Reply

